Brian Dettmer: Book Surgeon


Brian Dettmer: Book Surgeon

This is called a book autopsy. If you Google this guy, you will be amazed at the images and information you can find. Susan Hoerth is another artist who does similar work. I LOVE it! In the 21st century, as we transition to ebooks, these are a memorial to a different way of learning…a way that I hope will not become completely lost. I still love annotating text, underlining, writing my questions and connections in the margins of my Bible, textbooks, and novels. As I look for this sort of art, I notice a trend toward the cerebral, fairy tales, and Shakespeare. I am hoping to try my hand at this…aiming to find vintage illustrated Bibles and antique textbooks for educators and theologians.

About Aubrey

Christian educationist having served in Title I and non Title I public schools, with experience in the often misunderstood fields of gifted education, RtI, and coaching. First hand experience homeschooling, virtual schooling, and alternative schooling too. Married mother of 3 in a blended family.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

