It Only Takes a Girl


A great book to follow this video is Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind by Suzanne Fisher Staples, available on Amazon, used for .01, new for $7, or via Kindle. My 7th graders loved it, boys & girls alike. It made them all want to find ways to reach out to girls whose human rights were vlolated and it also helped them appreciate the people who step in and help liberate girls around the world. If I were still teaching gifted language arts & social studies I would definitey show this video before teaching the novel.

I haven’t been feeling particularly inspired these past couple of weeks; I’ll blame it on graduate student fatigue. That changed when I came across a great video called It Only Takes a Girl. IOTAG is a project started up by a blogger (blog link here) to address issues pertaining to the health and education of girls. Take a couple minutes out of your day and give this moving video a watch:

I have to say that I’m starting to find the examination of behavioural interventions on health wildly fascinating. I love it when researchers start thinking outside of the box and examine associations like the effect of increasing marriageable ages in developing countries, the impact of micro-credit programs, or how female political leaders can influence various outcomes (health status, education, etc.) in populations.

Speaking with my peers really makes it clear to me how detached people are from…

View original post 238 more words

About Aubrey

Christian educationist having served in Title I and non Title I public schools, with experience in the often misunderstood fields of gifted education, RtI, and coaching. First hand experience homeschooling, virtual schooling, and alternative schooling too. Married mother of 3 in a blended family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Only Takes a Girl

  1. audedu says:

    I encourage readers to go to the original post on this and watch the video.

  2. Pingback: It Only Takes a Girl | Chestnut ESL HOME

  3. Thank you for the beautiful video, I’ve just reblogged to my blog linking to yours.
    Keep up with the nice posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

